Hi, I’m the English Teacher Pet

Well, needless to say, I am an English teacher pet. I’ve always admired teachers and all they do, but I’ve always been a somewhat shy person, so I didn’t know what I could do with my life. Then, one day, in my junior year of high school, almost 4 years ago, I had an epiphany: I wanted to be an  English teacher. So now, I’m enduring the long and rewarding process of becoming an  English teacher at a small liberal arts college in Maryland. The first curve ball they decide to throw at me is “To teach English in the secondary school setting (grades 7-12) you must elect an English major with a literature concentration.” Sounds easy enough, but guess what? I’m a writer. I’ve written short stories, poems, nonfiction pieces, and for the past year and a half I’ve been working on a mystery/thriller novel. So, to combine my love of writing, and my aspiration to be a teacher, I elected and English major, but a creative writing concentration, not lit. AND THEY WILL JUST HAVE TO DEAL WITH THAT NOW WON’T THEY???? It’s not that I have a problem with lit, I just prefer writing. I want to teach students to bring out their creativity and express themselves in the beautiful form of written language. So, this blog will probably feature me talking about the hardships of writing, the hardships of teaching, some teachers I’ve had who’ve inspired me, and some students I get to teach to open my mind about this life I’ve chosen. As I like to say, I’m not in it for the money, I’m doing what I love, and there’s nothing more important that that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

