Back to NYC

You remember when I saw “Seminar” with Alan Rickman on Broadway? Well, this summer I’ll be going back to New York City to see one of my favorite musicals of all time on the big stage: Jesus Christ Superstar!

Jesus Christ Superstar is a musical retelling of the death of Christ and the Easter story. I don’t know who is playing the characters in the version I’ll be seeing yet, and frankly I don’t really care who’s in it because I just love the play. Show stopping numbers like Superstar, Blood Money, What’s the Buzz, and I Don’t Know How to Love Him are going to be difficult for them to pull off by my standards. Unlike Seminar, I know the story, so I know what to expect and how it should be, so this will be interesting because I’ll want to see how well they recreate this classic story.

So that’s one thing I have to look forward to this summer, but also I’m seeing Coldplay in concert on their Mylo Xyloto album tour. Although this album is one of their worst selling albums ever, and the album was the worst selling album of 2011, I like many of the songs they’ve churned out. I hope they include their classic favorites as well, like Speed of Sound, Yellow, and Clocks. But also new favorites like Paradise and Charlie Brown will be something to look forward to.

I kind of love all music, but it would be really awesome if I could get to see Aurelio Voltaire or Bob Seger or Van Halen someday. Yes, I like rock and roll, and yes, I have seen the musical Rock of Ages. The movie version, not the actual show. Someday, someday.

I also wanted to let anyone who’s interested know about a blog called The Sextant Review. It’s a writing blog for young writers, preferrably those who have not yet been published. I’ve submitted two poems to them so far, only because I’m taking a poetry class this coming semester and wanted some practice critique. I could have taken another fiction writing seminar, but I didn’t want to have the same visiting professor a second time. The visitor, Jessica Anya Blau, is a very talented and accomplished writer, but she’s not challenging as a teacher. I’m all about being challenged, especially in creative writing and teaching methods, so I don’t want a teacher who will just give me a grade for being there. My class this coming semester will be with poet Elizabeth Spires, the wife of Madison Smartt Bell, who is a famed Baltimore literary figure and also teaches at my college.

Until next time!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

